Skip to content

It might be time to replace your helmet if…

June 12, 2009

A question that I get a lot is “When should I replace my helmet?”  You should always replace your helmet after a crash, if it is cracked, if it does not have a CPSC, ASTM or Snell sticker, or it has been more than 5 years.  Depending on frequency of use you may replace sooner.

Personally, I replace my helmet every 1 to 2 years.   The response I usually receive is “Two years!! That’s crazy talk! how do you justify that?”

I figure I ride my bike 3 to 4 times a week, roughly 113 miles.  At 52 weeks in a year I ride 5,876 miles.   Last year I bought the Specialized S-Works helmet for $230.00.

That helmet costs me $1.11 a ride or $.04 a mile.  That’s less than the food I consume on the average ride.  If I’m riding that much I want something that’s comfortable, light weight and well ventilated.  Especially during these hot Texas summers.  The most important thing we have sits between our ears and I would like to keep it there.

Some of our customers, staff and online friends have offered up these suggestions as well.

It may be time for new helmet if…

…It has a chin cup.

…It doesn’t have any vents.

…you’re over 12 and you have a froggy sticker on it.

…your crack is showing.

…it has a face mask.

..there are two beer holders on either side and a long straw

…it doubles as an emergency port-a-potty

…It smells like old socks!

…It is faded from years of sun

…it looks more like a yamika

please feel free to add more in the comments section or twitter us @bss_austin. (use hash tag #newhelmet)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dave Hughes permalink
    June 18, 2009 10:50 am

    I’m not even Jewish, but I know that it’s ‘yarmulke’…not ‘yamika’.

  2. roostertx permalink
    June 24, 2009 2:35 pm

    Dave, seriously? go for a bike ride Negative Nelly. Who cares. It’s a funny blog not a term paper.

Trackbacks

  1. Matthew Modine gets wacky on bicycle helmets | Austin On Two Wheels

Leave a Reply

