Skip to content

Be Seen Bike Lights

November 2, 2009

The days are getting shorter again and it’s time to break out the lights. Unless you’ve been hitting the Thursday night rides with Social Cycling ATX you are probably unaware of some of the cool new lighting accessories. Here are a few recommendations from friends and staff.

Daniel Curtin

Daniel Curtin_paris I use the Planet Bike Blaze headlight and Superflash rear light. I use them/have them on me when I know or think I’ll be out on the bike  before dawn or after dusk–after all, that’s the law in Austin!What I like about them is that they are SUPER bright and use standard batteries that you can pick up at the store. Also, they mount/dismount super easy, and the tail light can attach to anything–bike, bag, shirt, helmet, small fury thing with a collar, etc.

Cedric Knudsen

For commuting I like the Serfas seat stay red blinking light. It is silicone covered, bright and stays on tight with a variety of mounting options.My objective is to be seen, not to see. I also carry a set of small knog backup lights, either on the bike or in my bag for backup. Cedric Knudsen


Be Safe-Be Seen!

“My objective is to be seen, not to see.” Cedric brings up a great point. This is an important question to ask when considering your choices for lights this fall. Your commute may lead you down an unlit street or trail requiring more light.  The NiteRider Trinewt offers a poweful punch encased in a small lightweight shell.

For those of you braving the streets after the time change, Bicycle Sport Shop wants to make sure your safe. That’s why we’re giving away a FlashBak lighting system. If you attend the Social Cycling rides on Thursdays you may have seen a few of these or even had a chance to speak with the inventor, Brad Beneski. Well, now’s your chance to own his lighting system. The FlashBak provides excellent side and rear visibility, attaches to almost anything and can be seen blinking up to 2000 feet away.

“Hey Carter! Give me that light!”GrabbingForFlashbak

If you want the FlashBak, all you have to do is send me an email telling me why you need it, where the FlashBak will help you get safely. If selected, please let us know how awesome it is. Entries may be submitted through Wednesday, November 11 and the winner will be selected on Friday, November 13th.  All entries will be posted to the blog so be creative. Pictures and video are highly recommended.

send entries to socialmedia@bicyclesportshop.com

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Gabe McGuinness permalink
    November 3, 2009 3:39 pm

    Hello There,

    I would like to win your contest for the FlashBack device. It would help mitigate one of the ways I might die if i continue the Monday night Heavy Metal Fitness rides, and monthly Moonlight Cruises. Now that it is getting dark at 5:30, I could also use it on my commute home from downtown to the Stassney and 35 area…

    Best,

    Gabe McGuinness

  2. Jeffro permalink
    November 9, 2009 8:12 pm

    I like to play in traffic more than Gabe does! If you only could have been there on Halloween…. “Bee down! Bee down!” Let’s just say the Bee made friends with Lavaca Street… he was ok though!

    http://www.twitpic.com/owtss

  3. Steve Bergman permalink
    November 11, 2009 1:57 pm

    There once was a biker named Steve
    He liked to ride safe and believe
    That lighting his way
    Would save the day
    And not make himself have to weave.

    The Flashbak could make the ride
    A bit more sane, not side to side
    With it flashing a bit
    Showing the drivers True Grit
    There’s absolutely no reason to hide.

    To work and back I go
    Now on Standard time you know
    Dark is the night
    I Need this Light
    The FlashBak just makes you glow.

  4. November 11, 2009 7:15 pm

    This year is my first year of commuting on 2-wheels. I’ve wanted to for a while, just never got around to it. As you know, I just got “hooked up” with a Bianchi. So, I moved my LED headlamp as well as another headlamp onto my helmet so I could bike home.

    Apparently, in the 6-weeks since I last biked home thanks to the knee and the bike deal, this thing called Daylight Savings Time went into effect. Now, 6:00 pm is like biking at 3am, which I did for the NYC Century/my LIVESTRONG Double Century attempt, however, it’s combined with rush-hour traffic. And, what I didn’t realize, is that my route home has zero street-lights for much of the way. Even with the two little lights I have, I feel like I’m biking BLIND.

    I plan to bike through winter (gawd-willing, assuming I can figure out this whole winter-tire deal), but I can’t see a darn thing for the remaining 8-10 miles of my ride!

    Which is really bad, especially since I’m trying to teach my kids what biking safely is. My example of being hit by a car isn’t exactly ideal. LOL!

    And, this way, I can pass on the headlamp that’s pretty decent onto my son, whose headlamp was broken when he fell.

  5. roostertx permalink
    November 12, 2009 2:39 pm

    Thank you everyone for your responses. It was a tough decision, but I have to go with Steve Bergman for his creative poetics.

    Carter

    • Stephen Bergman permalink
      November 20, 2009 6:28 am

      I just checked back, cool!! My evening commute is basically all in the dark now, so this will be quite handy. Carter, do I need to come by the store? Let me know.

  6. December 19, 2009 8:12 pm

    Advantageously, the post is really the best on this worthy topic. I concur with your conclusions and will eagerly look forward to your next updates. Saying thanks will not just be adequate, for the wonderful clarity in your writing. I will directly grab your rss feed to stay informed of any updates. Gratifying work and much success in your business enterprise!

Leave a Reply

