Skip to content

The Gauntlet Has Been Thrown Down.

November 13, 2009

You know there are not too many days here in Austin, TX that you can’t ride a bike.  I was on the phone with a friend from QBP in Minneapolis, we were discussing 2010 Bicycle Sport Shop Austin Commuter Challenge, and he was telling me about an end of the season challenge they were hosting on GreenLightRide.  I guess he was more “calling me out” than telling me about it.  These guys are tough.  They commute in rain, snow, sleet, and quite often below freezing temperatures.  Not to mention black ice, dogs, squirrels and teenagers with cell phones.

So here’s the deal people.  We can let a bunch of northerners make us look like sissies.  We’re Texans for goodness sakes.  You Californians are gonna have to suck it up.

Competition Details

For every trip you take, you score. The longer your ride, the more points you score. If it was raining, double the mileage. Living in sunny, warm Texas will work against us on this challenge, but what’s a little handicap when you have all that great weather for riding?

Start Date: November 18

End Date: Dec. 30

Number of Scoring Players: 10

Eligible Trip tags: work, errands, recreation

Scoring format: mileage

The QBP Team is the (Long Shadows). They’ve got half a dozen riders so far. I expect them to get a full roster soon.

If you are interested in a little friendly competition to finish up the 2009 riding season register at GreenLightRide to participate.  If you already have a team registered on GreenLightRide join the compete here.  If you want to participate, but are not on a team, I am looking for 9 people that want to kick some notherner butt.  My team is the “Dirty Roosters” – join my team.

“Who’s coming with me man?”

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2009 5:12 pm

    Uh… well, I’m a northerner, but I have a certain loyalty to Texan bike shops. 😉

    Can I play? And for whom?

  2. Bill Simons permalink
    November 13, 2009 6:28 pm

    Oh Hell Yeah. I’m in Carter.

  3. roostertx permalink
    November 13, 2009 8:34 pm

    Rica,

    Yes! You can play. You should start a team and invite some friends to participate. I will be available Monday by phone if you want me to walk you through it.

    Carter

  4. roostertx permalink
    November 13, 2009 8:35 pm

    Bill,

    Are you joining my team or startin’ one? Either way this should be fun. I have to go up there in February to speak on a panel, so we have to win…otherwise it could be shameful.

    Carter

  5. Steve permalink
    November 20, 2009 8:41 pm

    Seems like the Heretics are already in. Should get some good miles next week.

Leave a Reply

