Skip to content

Welcome Back Carter

December 31, 2009

I would like to apologize for my posting absence on Carter’s Corner. It has been a busy last few months around the shop getting ready for the Holidays. I hope everyone had an opportunity to get on the bike over the break. We are very fortunate in Austin to have such mild winters. There are not too many days that it’s too cold to ride.

So as many of you know or do not know I have decided to compete in my first Triathlon, The Rookie. The tri is not till May, but seeing as how I do not swim or run I figured it would be a good idea to get some coaching. I recently went to a core class and swim class with T3, a year round triathlon training group for adults. They offer a wide variety of classes and have a nice sized facility over here just off S. Lamar. and Oltorf. I have only been to two classes, a core class and a swim practice, and I have learned two things. One, I am out of shape. You would think that the 80 – 100 miles a week I put in on the bike would suffice, but alas, they do not. I am still sore. The second thing I learned is that swimming is like speaking a foreign language. If you don’t practice you can’t do it.

I swam competitively a few summers in Virginia when I was younger. I even earned the nickname “Aqua Man” because my coach said I was aquadynamic. I did NOT feel aquadynamic on Tuesday night. I will say however, that despite the 30 degree temperatures and the 74 degree pool (probably about 5 to 10 degrees to cool) I had a blast. It felt great to be in the pool again and I slept like a baby that night. This first practice Maurice, T3’s head coach, gave me a few drills to gauge where I was at. I signed up for the 6 week swim clinic January 11th thru February 17th. I’m pretty excited to see what types of improvements will be made. Who knows maybe Aqua Man lives.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

