Skip to content

The Warda Race – Racin’ With the Boys, Literally by Nadina Junuzovic

March 8, 2010

First race of the season was awesome! Two weeks ago I had planned to race CAT 1 women 15-18, but because of my age and the USAC rulebook, I was not eligible to race that category because I was underage. So I decided to race with the CAT 3 men 13-14. When we arrived at Warda I was pretty nervous because I had never started with a group of 5+ people, and now I was at the starting line with 20+ guys! I came into this race pretty confident and looking to place top 10. Due to the fact of poor weather conditions and my unwillingness to hop on the trainer, I wasn’t completely ready.

At the starting line I was getting eager to start the race. They soon started calling names of people to pull up to the starting line. One by one they all pulled up to the line as I patiently waited for my name to be called. I was the last one to be called and they decided to start us together with the CAT 3 15-18 men. Now there were three rows of guys in front of me which affected my start immensely. (A lesson I learned from this is to never procrastinate again when it comes to pre registering).

When they fired the gun to start the race i had difficulty getting myself to the front, but as the race went on, the used to be group of packed together riders, split up. I tryed to keep view of 5th place but it didn’t happen too well. My energy drink really started to kick in on the second lap where I passed at least three guys that were a few minutes ahead of me. I passed a bunch of older men on the last two hills and I felt like I had a strong sprint to the finish. Overall I felt like I did well, but I didn’t achieve my set goal which was 5th or 6th place.  This season I’ll be working on getting my endurance up and getting used to mass starts.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kristi permalink
    March 8, 2010 10:56 pm

    WOW!!! Amazing Nadina…very brave move to race with the boys! Go get em 🙂

  2. April 30, 2010 8:55 pm

    I was one of those “older men” you passed. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

